Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Idles, Jade Bird and Dave head up 2019 AIM Independent Awards shortlist

Cult political punk band Idles and English singer-songwriter Jade Bird head up this year’s AIM Independent Awards shortlist, with four and three nominations respectively

This year’s AIM Independent Awards shortlist is in and, unsurprisingly, Idles lead the way with four nominations (UK Independent Breakthrough, International Breakthrough, Best [Difficult] Second Album, Best Creative Packaging) for the 2019 awards ceremony.

Jade Bird, with three nominations (UK Independent Breakthrough, International Breakthrough, Best Independent Album) is just behind Idles, while others like Fontaines DC, Dave, FKA Twigs, Georgia and Christine and the Queens are all in the running for two awards each.

Read: Review: IDLES spread joy at sold-out Digbeth show

Read: Fontaines D.C. announce debut album and winter UK tour

For the first time, BBC Introducing will also be involved in the AIM Independent Awards in the Ones To Watch category, which features new artists Arlo Parks, Barney Artist, Georgia, Kokoroko and Larkins. 

Other notable nominees include Gerry Cinnamon, Jorja Smith, AJ Tracey and Freya Ridings.

A judging panel will decide the winners ahead of the ceremony which will take place at London Roundhouse on September 3rd.

Voting has now opened for the Best Live Act category in association with Songkick, for the sixth year running. Head here to vote for your favourite live act before 8pm on Wednesday 31st July.

AIM have also revealed that Blondie’s Debbie Harry will take home this year’s Outstanding Contribution to Music award.

See below for the full list of nominees.

UK Independent Breakthrough (in association with YouTube Music)
  • Black Midi
  • Ezra Collective
  • Gerry Cinnamon
  • Idles
  • Jade Bird
International Breakthrough
  • Afro B
  • Jade Bird
  • Maribou State
  • Nilüfer Yanya
  • Idles
Best Independent Track (in association with Facebook)
  • Dave, Funky Friday (ft. Fredo)
  • FKA Twigs, Cellophane
  • Fontaines DC, Boys In The Better Land
  • Georgia, About Work The Dancefloor
  • Jarv Is, Must I Evolve
  • Jai Paul, Do You Love Her Now
  • Holly Herndon, Eternal
  • Little Simz, Selfish (ft. Celo Sol)
  • Sharon Van Etten, Seventeen
  • Four Tet, Teenage Birdsong
Best Independent Album (in association with Spotify)
  • Better Oblivion Community Center, Better Oblivion Community Center
  • Christine And The Queens, Chris
  • Dave, Psychodrama
  • Fontaines DC, Dogrel
  • Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, End of Suffering
  • Jade Bird, Jade Bird
  • Jordan Rakei, Origin
  • Little Simz, Grey Area
  • Snapped Ankles, Stunning Luxury
  • Swindle, No More Normal
Best [Difficult] Second Album
  • Erland Cooper, Sule Skerry
  • Idles, Joy as an Act of Resistance
  • Julia Jacklin, Crushing
  • Maribou State, Kingdoms In Colour
  • Soak, Grim Town
One To Watch (in association with BBC Music Introducing)
  • Arlo Parks
  • Barney Artist
  • Georgia
  • Kokoroko
  • Larkins
Best Small Label
  • Fuzz Club Records
  • Killing Moon
  • Local Action
  • Scruff of the Neck
  • Speedy Wunderground
Best Creative Packaging (in association with MCPS)
  • Various Artists, Confessin’ The Blues compilation
  • Murlo, Dolos
  • Idles, Joy as an Act of Resistance
  • Various Artists, Sick Music 2019 compilation
  • Keith Richards, Talk Is Cheap
Best Independent Video (in association with Vevo)
  • Christine and the Queens, 5 Dollars
  • Hot Chip, Hungry Child
  • John Grant, He’s Got His Mother’s Hips
  • Caleb Steph, Black Boy
  • FKA Twigs, Cellophane
Best Independent Label (in association with PIAS)
  • Brownswood Recordings
  • Domino
  • Nuclear Blast
  • Partisan Records
  • Rough Trade
PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist
  • AJ Tracey
  • Cosmo Sheldrake
  • Freya Ridings
  • Guru Randhawa
  • Jorja Smith
Like this? Try these…

Richard Franks

Founding editor of Counteract. Freelance travel and music journalist.